ISO 14001 Environmental Management Systems - Revision


ISO 14001 Environmental management systems, one of ISO’s most widely used standards, has been revised.

Why was ISO 14001 revised?

All ISO standards are reviewed every five years to establish if a revision is required in order to keep it current and relevant for the marketplace. ISO 14001:2015 is designed to respond to latest trends and ensure it is compatible with other management system standards.

What are the main changes to the standard?

The key changes relate to:

  • Increased prominence of environmental management within the organization's strategic planning processes
  • Greater focus on leadership
  • Addition of proactive initiatives to protect the environment from harm and degradation, such as sustainable resource use and climate change mitigation
  • Improving environmental performance added
  • Lifecycle thinking when considering environmental aspects
  • Addition of a communications strategy


In addition, the revised standard follows a common structure [PDF] , with the same terms and definitions as a number of other management system standards such as ISO 9001. This is particularly useful for those organizations that choose to operate a single (sometimes called “integrated”) management system that can meet the requirements of  two or more management system standards simultaneously.

Useful links

ISO/TC 207/SC 1
Visit the Technical Committee's own website for more information.

Other popular standards

ISO 9001 Quality management
The ISO 9000 family is the world's most best known quality management standard for companies and organizations of any size.
ISO 50001 Energy management
ISO's standard for helping organizations manage their energy performance.
ISO 22000 Food safety management
Inspire confidence in your food products with this family of standards.
ISO/IEC 27001 Information security management
Security for any kind of digital information, the ISO/IEC 27000 family of standards is designed for any size of organization.

Who was responsible for the revision? 

The revision was conducted by an ISO technical committee called ISO/TC 207/SC 1, which is comprised of experts nominated by their National Standards Bodies and liaison organizations. See the ISO/TC 207/SC 1 homepage for more details.

I am certified to ISO 14001:2004. What does this mean for me?

Organizations are granted a three-year transition period after the revision has been published to migrate their environmental management system to the new edition of the standard. After this transition period, companies that opt for third party certification will have to seek certification to the new version of the standard. The former version, ISO 14001:2004, and any certification to it, will be out of date. See further guidance from the International Accreditation Forum (IAF).

Do I have to be certified to the new standard?

No, certification is not compulsory. For further information about certification and other types of third party assessment, this see our page on conformity assessment.


Video: Google hangout - All you need to know about ISO 14001:2015
Google hangout: Some of the experts behind this new version tell you what's new.