• Secretariat: SN
    Committee Manager:
    Mr Knut Aune
  • Chairperson (until end 2020):
    Dr Lorentz Petter Lossius
  • ISO Technical Programme Manager [TPM]:
    M Stéphane Sauvage
    ISO Editorial Programme Manager [EPM]:
    Mr David Reid
  • Creation date: 2004


Standardization in the field of materials for the production of primary aluminium, including aluminium oxide, cryolite, aluminium fluoride, sodium fluoride, carbonaceous products and ceramic materials.

Quick links

Sustainable Development Goals

This committee contributes with 1 standard to the following Sustainable Development Goal:


published ISO standards *

under the direct responsibility of ISO/TC 226


ISO standards under development *

under the direct responsibility of ISO/TC 226


Participating members


Observing members

* number includes updates

Reference Title Type
ISO/TC 226/WG 1 Carbonaceous binders, including pitch Working group
ISO/TC 226/WG 2 Cathodes and ramming paste Working group
ISO/TC 226/WG 3 Smelter grade alumina Working group
ISO/TC 226/WG 4 Smelter grade fluorides Working group
ISO/TC 226/WG 6 Anodes and coke Working group

Liaison Committees to ISO/TC 226

The committees below can access the documents of ISO/TC 226:

Reference Title ISO/IEC
ISO/TC 27/SC 5 Methods of analysis ISO
ISO/TC 47 Chemistry ISO

ISO/TC 226 - Secretariat

SN [Norway]

Standards Norway
Mustads vei 1
NO-1366 Lysaker

Tel: +47 67 83 86 00