The G7 ICT and Industry Ministers’ Declaration entitled “Making the next production revolution inclusive, open and secure” outlined the promotion of international cooperation on standards as being “critical for the progress toward the digitally connected world. They are a means to promote economic growth, innovation, productivity and competitiveness, and interoperability, trust and security in the use of ICTs”.

Logo of the G7 2017 Italia


Drafted during the meeting of the G7, a forum for dialogue at the highest level attended by the world’s most important industrially advanced democracies, the declaration also highlighted the benefits of the standards development process that includes stakeholders from a wide range of areas and stated that “governments should foster an inclusive environment for standards development […] so that technical solutions reflect the priorities of all stakeholders including SMEs and consumers”.

Sergio Mujica, Secretary-General of ISO, the world’s largest developer of International Standards, welcomed the declaration, saying that standards are essential to keep pace with our fast-changing world.

“Standards are driven by market needs and provide a common language by which people everywhere can understand each other. This creates a strong platform for innovation, connectivity and economic growth.

“In the digital world, International Standards provide the basis of interoperability which is essential for technology to work. For example, for devices to communicate with one another and for data exchange to work, there needs to be an understanding of the communication protocols and methods in order for compatibility to be achieved. This is where standards provide a vital role.

“We are delighted to see that this has been recognized by the G7 leaders as a way to drive innovation and progress.”

The G7 Declaration was made as part of the G7 Ministerial Meeting on ICT and Industry, one of three ministerial meetings dedicated to innovation that were held in Turin, under Italian Presidency, from 25 to 30 September 2017. The G7 is composed of France, the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, Japan, Italy and Canada.