Celebrating its 10th anniversary in 2013, the award recognizes the implementation of innovative and efficient processes and solutions that ensure the provision of excellent services. It provides an opportunity to publicize and share best practice among ISO committees.

ISO Secretary-General Rob Steele says, “Your nomination will help recognize and disseminate excellent practices in standardization. It will also draw attention to the well-deserved merit of colleagues. I cannot encourage the ISO community enough to get involved.”

Nominations can be submitted by representatives of an ISO national member body, Chairs and Secretaries of ISO technical committees and subcommittees, and ISO technical programme managers. Nominations should be sent to tmb@iso.org by 31 March.

Last year the prize went ISO technical committee ISO/TC 242, Energy management, the team of experts who developed the ISO 50001 International Standard for energy management. The standard provides a framework for industrial plants; commercial, institutional, or governmental facilities; or entire organizations to manage energy. It is estimated that that it could influence up to 60 % of the world’s energy use.

Past winners of the LDE award include subcommittee ISO/IEC JTC 1, Information Technology, SC 29, Coding of audio, picture, multimedia and hypermedia information, who developed the widely popular MPEG standard; ISO/TC 34, Food products, ISO/TC 176, Quality management, SC 2, Quality systems, responsible for ISO 9001; ISO/TC127, Earth-moving machinery; ISO/TC 8, Ships and marine technology; ISO/TC 172, Optics and photonics; and ISO/TC 211, Geographic information/Geomatics.

The winner will be announced at the ISO General Assembly in St .Petersburg, Russia in September 2013.

The award was established as a tribute to the late ISO Secretary-General (1986-2002) Lawrence D. Eicher.