Skip to main content

This news belongs to our archive.

Speaking to this gathering of ISO officers and national delegates worldwide, ISO President, Professor Masami Tanaka, presented the prestigious award to ISO/TC 67, Materials, equipment and offshore structures for the petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries, for excellence in creative and innovative standards development.

The American Petroleum Institute (API) holds the secretariat of the technical committee on behalf of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI), ISO member for the USA, with Cheryl Stark as Chair. The technical committee, in which more than 50 countries are currently represented, with over 1000 experts participating in its work, is responsible for the development of more than 120 International Standards comprising 12 000 pages since 1998.

ISO’s Technical Management Board recommended that ISO/TC 67, whose vision statement reads Global standards, used locally worldwide, be honoured. In putting this vision into practice, the technical committee is closely attuned to the needs of the stakeholders in its sector and uses in-depth market studies to identify future standards needs of oil and gas producers and systematic priority-setting to keep its work focused on these needs.

“The current rise in oil prices and the consequent need to optimize exploration and production through international standards underlines the topicality of this committee's work,” said Prof. Tanaka, when presenting the award to Cheryl Stark.

Prof. Tanaka praised ISO/TC 67 for its “strong leadership" and for its implementation of a five-year management plan, project management focus and production metrics to keep its work aligned with its vision and strategy. He congratulated the technical committee for optimizing resources by avoiding duplication of work through its close relationships with API and the European Committee for Standardization (CEN) and for its strong industry ties illustrated by its privileged relationship with the International Association of Oil and Gas Producers (OGP), a consortium of international companies and stakeholders.

The ISO Council established the Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award for Excellence in Creative and Innovative ISO/TC/SC Services and Initiatives in 2002, as a tribute to ISO’s late Secretary-General. This award is presented annually at the ISO General Assembly to a deserving ISO technical committee or subcommittee.

The award recognizes ISO TCs and SCs (including all those involved: chairs, secretaries, member bodies, delegates and experts) for excellence in creative and innovative services and initiatives to support their work and their constituents. This award is presented to the committee as a whole and provides an opportunity to publicize and share best practices among ISO committees.

Dr. Eicher, who passed away in March 2002, served as Secretary-General of ISO from 1986 to 2002.

Press contact

Journalist, blogger or editor?

Want to get the inside scoop on standards, or find out more about what we do? Get in touch with our team or check out our media kit

Keep up to date with ISO

Sign up to our newsletter for the latest news, views and product information.