Do you work with a committee that has great leadership, uses innovative approaches and promotes the involvement of developing countries? Nominate them for the LDE Award by 14 May 2021.

The Award

The Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership (LDE) Award recognizes the significant contribution and superior performance of an ISO technical committee (TC) or subcommittee (SC) to the development of ISO International Standards. The award is designed to encourage creative and collaborative work by rewarding the implementation of innovative and efficient processes and solutions that ensure the provision of excellent services. It is also an opportunity to publicize and share best practice among ISO committees.

Established in 2003, the award is named in honour of ISOʼs late Secretary-General, Lawrence D. Eicher, whose 16-year tenure at ISO (1986-2002) saw the organization evolve from an institution with a predominantly technological focus to a market-oriented organization whose standards are increasingly recognized as bringing, in addition to solutions to technical problems, wider social and economic benefits.

Eligibility and selection process

All ISO (and joint ISO/IEC) technical committees and subcommittees are eligible for consideration. 

The selection committee, comprising members of the ISO Technical Management Board, reviews the submissions and chooses the winner. 

Nomination criteria

Qualities and achievements in the following areas should be demonstrated:

  • Effective leadership
  • Effective coordination of the entire committee structure
  • Use of innovative approaches
  • Proactive project management and effective meeting support
  • Desire to promote the involvement of developing countries
  • Rapid response to emergent issues

Nominations can be submitted by anyone participating in the ISO standards development process including (but not limited to): TC/SC Chairs and Managers; Representatives of ISO member bodies; ISO Technical Programme Managers.

The winner

The Award is presented by the ISO President at the ISO General Assembly.  

The winning committee will receive: 

  • Travel grants for up-to two representatives of the winning technical committee to travel to the General Assembly.  
  • A promotional video created for the committee 
  • Spotlight article in the TMB Communiqué  
  • Recognition on ISO’s digital platforms, including social posts and an article on the ISO website.

How to apply

Download the application form 

Nominations should be sent to by 14 May 2021. 



For any questions, please send an email to ISO Capacity Building,

The Lawrence D. Eicher Leadership Award
Learn more about the award and nominations process.  

The 2020 LDE Award winner is ISO/TC 45

The ISO committee for rubber products wins top ISO award.

Improved safety, quality and facilitation of international trade are just some of the benefits that International Standards bring to the global rubber industry. ISO’s expert committee ISO/TC 45, Rubber and rubber products, has already published some 440 standards, with more than 60 others in development.

ISO/TC 45 was selected amongst more than 330 ISO committees, most notably for its ability to respond rapidly to market needs by producing standards that provide predictable and sustainable frameworks to produce, process, market and dispose of natural and synthetic rubber products.

By on

The ISO committee for rubber products wins top ISO award.

2019 - ISO/TC 84, Devices for administration of medicinal products and catheters
2018 - ISO/TC8, Ships and marine technology
2017 - ISO/TC 228, Tourism and related services
2016 - ISO/TC 207/SC 1 Environmental management systems
2015 - ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 27 IT Security Techniques
2014 - ISO/TC 45/SC2 Testing and analysis
2013 - ISO/TC 68 Financial services
2012 - ISO/TC 242 Energy management
2011 - ISO/TC 34 Food products
2010 - ISO/TC 211 Geographic information/Geomatics
2009 - ISO/TC 172 Optics and Photonics
2008 - ISO/TC 127 Earth-moving machinery
2007 - ISO/TC 184/SC 4 Industrial data
2006 - ISO/TC 67 Materials, equipment and offshore structures for petroleum, petrochemical and natural gas industries
2005 - ISO/TC 8 Ships and marine technology
2004 - ISO/TC 176/SC 2 Quality systems
2003 - ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 29 Information technology/Coding of audio, picture, multimedia and hypermedia information