• Committee Manager:
    Mr Sergio Mujica
  • Chairperson:
    Mr John Walter
  • Creation date: 1947


The ISO Council is the core governance body of the Organization and reports to the General Assembly. It meets three times a year and is made up of 20 member bodies, the ISO Officers and the Chairs of the Policy Development Committees CASCO, COPOLCO and DEVCO. The Council has direct responsibility over a number of bodies reporting to Council:

  • The President’s Committee advises Council on matters decided by Council.
  • Council Standing Committees address matters related to finance (CSC/FIN), strategy and policy (CSC/SP), nominations for governance positions (CSC/NOM), and oversight of the Organization’s governance practices (CSC/OVE).
  • Advisory Groups provide advice on matters related to ISO’s commercial policy (CPAG) and Information Technology (ITSAG).
  • CASCO - provides guidance on conformity assessment
  • COPOLCO - provides guidance on consumer issues
  • DEVCO - provides guidance on matters related to developing countries

    Membership to the Council is open to all member bodies and rotates to make sure it is representative of the member community.

Quick links


Participating members

Reference Title Type
ISO/COUNCIL/CPAG Commercial Policy Advisory Group Working group
ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/FIN Council Standing Committee on Finance (CSC/FIN) Sub committee
ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/NOM Council Standing Committee for Review of Nominations Sub committee
ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/OVE Council Standing Committee on Oversight Sub committee
ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/SP Council Standing Committee on Strategy and Policy Sub committee
ISO/COUNCIL/ITSAG Information Technology Strategy Advisory Group (ITSAG) Working group
Date Month Location TC/SC Note
18 September 2019 Cape Town (South Africa) ISO/COUNCIL  
12 November 2019 Geneva (Switzerland) ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/SP *
21 November 2019 Geneva (Switzerland) ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/FIN *
11 December 2019 Geneva (Switzerland) ISO/COUNCIL/CSC/NOM *
19-20 February 2020 Geneva (Switzerland) ISO/COUNCIL *
10-11 June 2020 Singapore (Singapore) ISO/COUNCIL *
22 September 2020 Abu Dhabi (United Arab Emirates) ISO/COUNCIL *

* Information definite but meeting not yet formally convened
** Provisional