WSC: The World Standards Cooperation was established in 2001 by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), in order to strengthen and advance the voluntary consensus-based international standards systems of, ISO, IEC and ITU.


3-4 November 2010
Premises of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO)
Geneva (Switzerland)

1. Overall structure of the workshop

DAY 1: 2010-11-03 (Wednesday)



08:30 - 10:00


10:00 - 12:00



Welcome and opening comment:
Malcolm Johnson - Director, ITU Telecommunication Standardization Bureau
Rob Steele - ISO Secretary-General  
Gabriel Barta - Head of technical coordination, IEC Central Office, representing the IEC General Secretary


Keynote 1:
Kyung-wha Kang - Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights,
UN Convention for the rights of persons with disabilities


Keynote 2:
Immed Eddine Chaker - International Disability Alliance, represented through the Arab Organization of Disabled Persons, Chairman of the Tunisian National Union of the Blind (UNAT)


Keynote 3 - Setting the stage on accessibility and standardization:
Inmaculada Placencia-Porrero - , Deputy Head of Unit, European Commission, Unit for the Integration of People with Disabilities


Keynote 4:
Joan Durocher (USA) - Executive Director, US National Council on Disability


Statements by the moderators of the three break-out groups about the objectives for each group  
Break-out Group 1: Ken Sagawa (Japan)
Break-out Group 2: Gildo Santos (Brazil)
Break-out Group 3: Axel LeBlois (France/USA)

12:00 - 13:00


13:00 - 15:30

Parallel meetings of the 3 breaks-out groups


Accessibility and everyday products

Accessibility and buildings

eAccessibility and eInclusion

15:30 - 15:50


15:50 - 17:30

Continuation of 3 break-out groups

17:50 - 20:00


DAY 2: 2010-11-04 (Thursday)





9:00 - 10:30

Accessibility and everyday products

Accessibility and buildings

eAccessibility and eInclusion

10:30 - 10:45


10:45 - 12:00

Accessibility and everyday products

Accessibility and buildings

eAccessibility and eInclusion

12:00 - 13:30


13:30 - 15:30

Reports and discussions about the findings of the 3 break-out groups

Rapporteurs break-out group 1:
Kenji Kuraka
(Japan) - National Institute of Advanced Science and Technology, Human Technology Research Institute, Head of Accessible Design Group, Japan /
Reinhard Weissinger
- Manager, Research, education and strategy, ISO Central Secretariat

Rapporteur break-out group 2:
Gabriel Barta
- IEC Central Office, Head of technical coordination

Rapporteur break-out group 3:
Alexandra Gaspari
- Accessibility Coordination Officer, ITU-T


15:30 - 15:50


Final session
15:50 - 16:20

Summary of the key outcomes of the workshop


2. Structure of the break-out group meetings

2010-11-03 (Wednesday), 13:00 - 17:30
2010-11-04 (Thursday), 09:00 - 12:00

(Wednesday afternoon break: 15:30-15:50)

Break-out group 1: Accessibility and everyday products

Break-out group 2: Accessibility and buildings

Break-out group 3: eAccessibility and eInclusion

Moderator: Introduction of the objectives of and plan for the break-out session
Setting the stage:

Ken Sagawa (Japan) - Professor at the Japan's Women University, Convenor of the Advisory Group on Accessible Design (AGAD) in ISO/TC 159 Ergonomics.
Georg Krämer (Germany) - Chair of ISO/TC 159 Ergonomics

Gildo Santos (Brazil) - Project Leader and Convenor of ISO/TC59/SC16/WG1

Axel LeBlois (France/USA) - Executive Director, G3ict (Global Initiative for Inclusive Technologies)

Speakers representing the stakeholder group Regulators/Governments:
Formulation of key issues

Hiroyuki Kubo (Japan) - Standardization Office for Consumers and Environment, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan
Seongil Lee (Republic of Korea) - Prof. for Systems Management Engineering, Sungkyunkwan Univ, Seoul

Ivan Donaldson (Australia) - General Manager, Australian Building Codes Board, Australia
Benjamin Marco Kisungwe (Tanzania) - Occupational Health and Safety Authority, Tanzania
Armina Reichel (Germany) - Office of the Federal Commissioner for Matters relating to Disabled Persons, Germany

Luiz Alves dos Santos - Policy Officer, European Commission, Unit: ICT for Inclusion

Speakers representing the stakeholder group Product Developers/Industry:
Formulation of key issues

Klaus-Peter Wegge (Germany) - Head, Siemens Accessibility Competence Center, Germany
Miwa Morikawa (Japan) - Accessible Design Foundation, Japan (small and medium enterprises)

Verônica Camisão (Brazil) - Architect, Chair of ICTA Latin America (Rehabilitation International - International Commission on Technology and Accessibility - Latin America branch)
Luc Rivet (Belgium) -
Secretary-General, European Lift Association

Luke Kowalski (USA) -
Vice President, Corporate Architecture Group, Oracle
Nasser Kettani (USA) - Regional Standards Officer, Microsoft Middle East and Africa
Monique Mai (France) / François-René Germain (France) - Group Accessibility / Vice President, Group Accessibility Director,
Orange FT Group

Speakers representing the stakeholder group Disability Organizations/Consumers:
Formulation of key issues

Bárbara Martin (Spain) - Director of the Technical Office of European Affairs, International Relations Department ONCE (Spanish National Organization of the Blind), World Blind Union
Lindsey Etchell (UK) - Chairperson, ANEC Design for All Working Group, representing Consumers International and ANEC

Norma McCormick (Canada) - Chair of ISO's Committee on Consumer Affairs (COPOLCO)
Ajith C. S. Perera
(Sri Lanka) - Founder and Chief-Executive of IDIRIYA, Sri Lanka (Idiriya is a non-for-profit disability organization for professionals promoting accessible buildings and assistive technology)
Bachar Abdelsamad (Lebanon) Lebanese Physical Handicapped Union 
Bette Dion (Canada) - President, Global Alliance on Accessible Technologies and Environments (GAATES), Canada

Wayne Hawkins (Australia) - Disability Policy Advisor, Australian Communications Consumers Action Network (ACCAN)
Arun Mehta
(India) - President, Bidirectional Access Promotion Society (BAPSI), India, and professor and chairman of the computer engineering department at JMIT, Radaur, Haryana, India

Speakers representing the stakeholder group Standards Developers:
Formulation of key issues

Kate Grant (UK) - Accessibility consultant, Nine Tiles, UK
Gerhard Fuchs (Germany) - Bosch-Siemens Household Appliances

Eduardo Alvarez (Uruguay) - Chair of ISO/TC 59/SC 16 Accessibility and usability of the built environment

Judy Brewer / Shadi Abou-Zahra - World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Director, Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) International Program Office / Activity Lead, Europe
Gunnar Hellström (Sweden) - CEO, Omnitor
Josée Auber (France) - ISO/IEC JTC 1 and Liaision officer to ITU-T
Yoshikazu Yorimoto (Japan) - ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 17 Information technology/Cards and personal identification
Floris van Nes (Netherlands) - Human Factors expert, Rapporteur of Question 4, ITU-T Study Group 2 (communication)


3. Side events