WSC: The World Standards Cooperation was established in 2001 by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO), the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) and the International Telecommunication Union (ITU), in order to strengthen and advance the voluntary consensus-based international standards systems of, ISO, IEC and ITU.


Opening speeches

Wan-Hea Lee - Chief, Groups in Focus Section, Human Rights Treaties Division, Office of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (on behalf of Kyung-wha Kang - Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights): Opening remarks by the Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights

Imed Eddine Chaker - International Disability Alliance, represented through the Arab Organization of Disabled Persons, Chairman of the Tunisian National Union of the Blind (UNAT): The right to accessibility and the role of international standards

Inmaculada Placencia-Porrero - Deputy Head of Unit, European Commission, Unit for the Integration of People with Disabilities: EU standardisation work on accessibility

Joan Durocher (USA) - Executive Director, US National Council on Disability: Accessibility and the contribution of International Standards - Key challenges and barriers


Break-out group 1: Accessibility and everyday products

Ken Sagawa (Japan) - Professor at the Japan's Women University, Convenor of the Advisory Group on Accessible Design (AGAD) in ISO/TC 159 Ergonomics;
Georg Krämer (Germany) -
Chair of ISO/TC 159 Ergonomics: Welcome and introduction break-out group 1 Accessibility and everyday products

Stakeholder group: Government/Regulators

Hiroyuki Kubo (Japan) - Standardization Office for Consumers and Environment, Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry, Japan: The latest progress in standardization of accessible design in Japan

Seongil Lee (Republic of Korea) - Prof. for Systems Management Engineering, Sungkyunkwan University, Seoul: Standardization priority in accessibility of everyday products

Stakeholder group: Product developers/Industry

Klaus-Peter Wegge (Germany) - Head, Siemens Accessibility Competence Center: Accessible design – Challenges and opportunities for companies

Miwa Morikawa (Japan) - Accessible Design Foundation, Japan (small and medium enterprises): To disseminate accessibility in the field of everyday products to the world

Stakeholder group: Disability Organizations/Consumers

Bárbara Martin (Spain) - Director of the Technical Office of European Affairs, International Relations Department ONCE (Spanish National Organization of the Blind), World Blind Union: The World Blind Union

Lindsey Etchell (UK) - Chairperson, ANEC Design for All Working Group (representing Consumers International and ANEC): Achieving inclusive standards – The consumer contribution

Stakeholder group: Standards Developers

Kate Grant (UK) - Accessibility consultant, Nine Tiles: Accessibility considerations in developing standards for everyday products

Gerhard Fuchs (Germany) - Bosch-Siemens Household Appliances: Application of ISO/IEC Guide 71 and ISO/TR 22411 to household appliances

Break-out group 2: Accessibility and buildings

Stakeholder group: Government/Regulators

Ivan Donaldson (Australia) - General Manager, Australian Building Codes Board: Accessibility and buildings – Australia

Benjamin Marco Kisungwe (Tanzania) - Occupational Safety and Health Authority: Accessibility and buildings - Tanzania

Armina Reichel (Germany) - Office of the Federal Commissioner for Matters relating to Disabled Persons, Germany: German Federal Government Commissioner for concerns of people with disabilities: Presentation | Text of the speech

Stakeholder group: Product developers/Industry

Verônica Camisão (Brazil) - Architect, Chair of ICTA Latin America (Rehabilitation International - International Commission on Technology and Accessibility - Latin America branch): Technical standards on accessibility: Architecture & construction

Luc Rivet (Belgium) - Secretary-General, European Lift Association: Accessibility for All, an Issue for our Industry: Presentation | Text of the speech

Stakeholder group: Disability Organizations/Consumers

Norma McCormick (Canada) - Chair of ISO's Committee on Consumer Affairs (COPOLCO): Accessibility standards in support of public policy

Ajith C. S. Perera (Sri Lanka) - Founder and Chief-Executive of IDIRIYA, Sri Lanka: Accessibility for all - Facilitating implementation: Some experiences from Sri Lanka

Bachar Abdelsamad (Lebanon) - Lebanese Physical Handicapped Union: Accessibility standards in the Middle East and North Africa (MENA) region

Stakeholder group: Standards Developers

Eduardo Alvarez (Uruguay) - Chair of ISO/TC 59/SC 16 Buildings and civil engineering works/Accessibility and usability of the built environment: 1) Operational guidelines on accessibility in urban development projects 2) Universalist design - Phase of synthesis


Break-out group 3: eAccessibility and eInclusion

Stakeholder group: Government/Regulators

Luiz Alves dos Santos - Policy Officer, European Commission, Unit: ICT for Inclusion: Standard-related actions on eInclusion and eAccessibility

Stakeholder group: Product developers/Industry

Luke Kowalski (USA) - Vice President, Corporate Architecture Group, Oracle: Oracle accessibility program

Nasser Kettani (USA) - Regional Standards Officer, Microsoft Middle East and Africa: eAccessibility - Microsoft

Monique Mai (France) / François-René Germain (France) - Group Accessibility / Vice President, Group Accessibility Director, Orange FT Group: Orange & Accessibility: Facilitating access to communication services for the elderly and disabled

Stakeholder group: Disability Organizations/Consumers

Wayne Hawkins (Australia) - Disability Policy Advisor, Australian Communications Consumers Action Network (ACCAN): Nothing About Us Without Us - eAccess and eInclusion: Consumer/disability organisations: Presentation | Text of the speech

Arun Mehta (India) - President, Bidirectional Access Promotion Society (BAPSI), India, and professor and chairman of the computer engineering department at JMIT, Radaur, Haryana, India: Mental challenges and extreme disabilities

Stakeholder group: Standards Developers

Shadi Abou-Zahra - World Wide Web Consortium (W3C), Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) Activity Lead, Europe: Web Accessibility Standards

Gunnar Hellström (Sweden) - CEO, Omnitor: Total conversation – From user need to implemented universal service

Josée Auber (France) - ISO/IEC JTC 1 Information technology and Liaison officer to ITU-T: ISO/IEC JTC 1 and accessibility

Yoshikazu Yorimoto (Japan) - ISO/IEC JTC 1/SC 17 Information technology/Cards and personal identification: Cards can make man-machine interface more friendly

Floris van Nes (Netherlands) - Human Factors expert, Rapporteur of Question 4, ITU-T Study Group 2 (communication): Combining accessibility with human factors

Elizabeth O'Ferrall (Ireland) - Standards Development Officer, National Standards Authority of Ireland: CEN workshop agreement "Curriculum for training ICT professionals in universal design"

Summary report of the rapporteurs

Kenji Kurakata and Reinhard Weissinger: Report of group 1

Gabriel Barta: Report of group 2

Alexandra Gaspari: Report of group 3

Kevin McKinley: Concluding remarks


Final recommendations from the workshop

Final recommendations adopted by the workshop on 5 November 2010