7 July 2010

Standards and academia: Recognizing academic excellence

ISO, IEC and ITU will present the most important initiatives to stimulate cooperation with academia and to recognize academic excellence.

Morning: Initiatives promoted by ISO, IEC and ITU-T

8:30 – 9:30 Registration

Chair: Masami Tanaka, Past President of ISO and Vice-President, Japanese Industrial Standards Committee (JISC)

9:30 The ISO Award

Rob Steele, ISO Secretary-General


Mingshun Song, Jiliang (Metrology) University, Hangzhou, China, winner of the ISO Award in 2007

Henk de Vries, Erasmus University, Rotterdam, The Netherlands, winner of the ISO Award in 2009

10:20 – 10:50 Coffee break

10:50 The IEC Challenge and Schools competition

Ronnie Amit, IEC General Secretary

Georges Zissis, Université Toulouse III - Paul Sabatier, France, 1st-Prize winner of the IEC Challenge, 2006

Akosombo International School, Ghana, 1st-Prize winner of the IEC Schools competition in 2009, presented by Jonathan Buck (IEC Director of Communication)

11:40 The ITU Kaleidoscope

Reinhard Scholl, Deputy Director, ITU Telecommunication Standards Bureau
Testimonials (in video conference):

Eva Ibarrola Armendariz, Escuela Técnica Superior de Ingeniería de Bilbao, Spain, winner of Kaleidoscope 2009 best paper’s award

Kamugisha Kazaura, Visiting Researcher at the Research Institute for Science and Engineering, Waseda University, Japan winner of Kaleidoscope 2009 best paper’s award

12:30 – 14:30 Cocktail reception

Afternoon: WSC and National Standards Bodies’ cooperation

Chair: Jack Sheldon, IEC Standardization Strategy Manager.

14:30 Open discussion on how ISO, IEC, ITU and their members can stimulate collaboration between their standardization systems and academia.

To stimulate the discussion, the invited speakers will provide examples of experiences and results achieved in their countries and regions in support of education about standardization

Bruce A. Harding, Chair of the American National Standards Institute Committee on Education, Professor of Mechanical Engineering Technology, Purdue University, USA

John Ketchell, Convenor of the CEN, CENELEC, ETSI Joint Working Group on Education about Standardization, Director, Innovation, CEN-CENELEC Management Centre, Brussels, Belgium

Soyoung Joo, Director of Chemistry and Ceramics standards division, KATS, Korea

15:30 – 16:00 Coffee break

16:00 Open discussion

17:00 Conclusions