ISO/IEC 10118-3:2004
Subscribe to updates

Information technology -- Security techniques -- Hash-functions -- Part 3: Dedicated hash-functions

(Only available in English)

This standard was last reviewed and confirmed* in 2013.

*Therefore this version remains current


ISO/IEC 10118-3:2004 specifies the following seven dedicated hash-functions, i.e. specially-designed hash-functions:

  • the first hash-function (RIPEMD-160) in Clause 7 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 160 bits;
  • the second hash-function (RIPEMD-128) in Clause 8 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 128 bits;
  • the third hash-function (SHA-1) in Clause 9 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 160 bits;
  • the fourth hash-function (SHA-256) in Clause 10 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 256 bits;
  • the fifth hash-function (SHA-512) in Clause 11 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 512 bits;
  • the sixth hash-function (SHA-384) in Clause 12 provides hash-codes of a fixed length, 384 bits; and
  • the seventh hash-function (WHIRLPOOL) in Clause 13 provides hash-codes of lengths up to 512 bits.

For each of these dedicated hash-functions, ISO/IEC 10118-3:2004 specifies a round-function that consists of a sequence of sub-functions, a padding method, initializing values, parameters, constants, and an object identifier as normative information, and also specifies several computation examples as informative information.


Related standards

  • PDF

    This format preserves the paper layout, and is watermarked

  • EPUB

    This format allows documents to be read on tablets and smartphones


    Enhanced user-friendly colour PDF format


    See any updates made from previous versions at a glance


    Normally A4 size documents. Shipping costs apply


Swiss francs CHF 198

Add to basket

Got a question?

Check out our FAQs

Email customer services
or call us on +41 22 749 08 88
09:00 – 12:30, 14:00 – 17:00 (UTC+1).