ISO Awards

ISO has a number of awards that help promote different aspects of international standardization.

The ISO Prize

Are you a leader in business, government or academia?
Have you made a significant contribution to the understanding or use of ISO standards?

Then you could win 20 000 CHF.

Eligibility criteria

In order to apply for this award you must be:

How to apply

Please explain in 300 words how you have made a significant contribution to the understanding or use of ISO standards in a way that has tackled economic, technological and/or societal challenges.

In addition, please send us a 150 word proposal for a project to research or finance the implementation of an ISO standard in a way that clearly addresses economic, environmental and/or societal challenges.

Please include your name, age, nationality, country of residence, company and position in your application.

Applications for this award are now closed.


ISO/DIN essay contest for young standardizers in developing countries

Under 35? Working for a national standards body of a developing country and passionate about standards?

Enter the ISO/DIN essay contest for young standardizers in developing countries.

The award helps to encourage young professionals in developing countries to engage in international standardization and to raise awareness of the importance of standards in promoting safe and sustainable economic development.

Winners are invited to visit and learn from DIN, the ISO member in Germany, which sponsors the award.

The award is organized every other year. Details of how to apply for the 2014 edition will be posted nearer the time.

Past winners

Head and shoulders of Mr William

In 2012, the winner of the Award for young standardizers was Mr. Amwayi Omukhweso William.

Lawrence D. Eicher Award

Do you know a committee that has great leadership, uses innovative approaches and promotes the involvement of developing countries?

Nominate it for the Lawrence D. Eicher Award.

The award recognizes excellence in technical work and is open to all ISO (and joint ISO/IEC) technical committees and subcommittees.

It was introduced in honour of Lawrence D. Eicher, ISO Secretary General  from 1986 to 2002, who sadly passed away while still in office.

Winners of the award enjoy increased recognition for their work, both within and outside the ISO community. For example:

For more information about the award, including how to apply, please download the award brochure.

Nominations for the 2014 LD Eicher Award are now open – download the nomination form here.
Please send all nominations to tmb@iso.org by 31 March 2014. Deadline extended until 15 April 2014!

"Your nomination will help recognize and disseminate excellent practices in standardization. It will also draw attention to the well-deserved merit of colleagues. I cannot encourage the ISO community enough to get involved."
Rob Steele, ISO Secretary General

Past winners

From left: Chair ISO/TC 68 Karla McKenna, ISO President Terry Hill, ISO/TC 68 Secretary Cindy Fuller.In 2013, the LDE award was given to ISO/TC 68 for its excellent work in the development of standards for the financial services sector.